jump to navigation

For Rocco September 9, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in honor.
trackback

1850.jpg

I did not know him.  I did not personally know anyone who was killed on Sept. 11, 2001.

We had such different lives.  But some things we shared.

Rocco Medaglia and I, both a couple of married fellas.  Both of us with two daughters.

I would have loved to hear him tell me about his girls.  I go on about mine all the time.  Baby stories to teenage blues.  Fights.  Drama.  Making up. 

Hugs and tears.

I cannot imagine the pain his girls, his wife Marian, daughters Diana and Elizabeth endured.  First not knowing if he was gone.

Then knowing he was gone.  Dear God.

A husband, and a dad. 

Look at this big goober’s smile.  Does he look like he’s having a good time or what?

Rocco was 49 years old on Sept. 11, 2001.  I had just turned 42.

On Sept. 11, 2001, Rocco was in Tower One, supervising a construction job for Cantor Fitzgerald.

A plane was flown into Tower One and he was killed.

Marian said he had a way about him.  I’ll bet he did

That smile says a lot, doesn’t it?

My heart goes out to his girls tonight, to Marian, to Diana, and Elizabeth.

I am so sorry for your loss.

I lift up a prayer tonight for your comfort from that pain, for peace.  For healing. 

If you see this, I hope it brings a smile to your face.  Rocco brought one to mine, he surely did.

Rocco, requiescat in pacem my friend. 

Comments»

1. geoff - August 24, 2006

Just breezed by for a post-martial-arts-‘n-beer survey of the blogs and was completely blindsided by this post. Nice work, Dave – the part I could get through, at least.

2. atlasjuggs - August 24, 2006

Damn, Dave.
::sigh::

::sigh::

3. Michael - August 24, 2006

Good job, Dave.

4. Bugler - August 25, 2006

Very well done, Dave. I know Rocco’s family and friends will appreciate this.

5. Greta (Hooah Wife) - August 31, 2006

well done!

6. writerchick - September 10, 2006

Nice post, Dave. Thanks for telling us about Rocco.
WC

7. Rightwingsparkle - September 10, 2006

Very sweet. Good job.

8. Chris - September 11, 2006

Wow Dave. Well written. Thank you.

9. Gormless Norman - September 11, 2006

These are the Clouds

Read more blogger tributes for the 2,996 project:

10. Elzbth - September 12, 2006

Beautifully done, Dave. My heart goes out to his family.

11. Never Forget « Dave in Texas - September 11, 2007

[…] Never Forget September 11, 2007 Posted by daveintexas in honor, War. trackback See-Dubya reminded me of Project 2996.  This is the small post I wrote for Rocco Medaglia. […]

12. Sean R - February 11, 2012

Nice tribute to my old friend Rocco. We had worked together before he went down to the WTC and we were great buddies. You were right about him. He had a great smile and was truly a character that loved life. I wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of him because he was a big guy but a teddybear. Rocco and I went out regularly and had many laughs. he was well loved by all the locals in a place we went to in Harlem. He was a family man and I’m sure there is a day that doesn’t go by that he is not thought of in a loving way by his daughters. God bless Rocco and you Dave for that beautiful tribute.

13. daveintexas - February 11, 2012

Thank you Sean. It was my privilege.

My best to you, to his friends and his family. God bless.

Dave

14. Kevin - September 11, 2013

I grew up with Rocco, went to K1 through our senior year at Plainedge HS, N. Massapequa NY. I was in his bridal party when he married the love of his life Marion Ellison. Marion is with Rocco now, she passed away a couple of years ago. God bless you both my friends. You are sorely missed!

15. daveintexas - September 11, 2013

Kevin, I grieve with you in the loss of your friends. God bless you and yours, and their kids. Thank you for this comment.

16. SiM - September 12, 2013

Nice. Cantor Fitzgerald lost more employees than anyone else that awful day. At the New School (11th st) where loved ones went for info on the missing was a table JUST FOR THEM. All the crying was very unsettling.

17. Fearless Leader - September 12, 2013

Dammit, Dave! You licked up a ton of dust and damned if it didn’t get in my eyes.

Fearless Leader - September 12, 2013

That should be *kicked*.


Leave a comment