jump to navigation

Never Forget September 11, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in honor, War.
trackback

See-Dubya reminded me of Project 2996.  This is the small post I wrote for Rocco Medaglia.

Choosing my words carefully here. 

It’s not that I don’t think memorials are fine and proper things.  I do.  They evoke remembrances of people who were taken from us, from their families and loved ones.  They hurt, and for a while we feel bad.  And that’s ok.

At some point we have to get past that.  I do not mean forget.  I mean move on, keep living.  If we don’t, it would be as if we lost some part of our lives too, you know?

We are at war with the same menace that took Rocco’s life, and so many others, so mercilessly.  That threat still exists, and it is real.  Attacks continued, and will continue, and we have to take them on.

It’s easy to get tired of it.  I’m tired of it, I understand.  You have to find something inside you that keeps you going, keeps you ready and willing to face your enemy, and fight them.

When I see Rocco’s big smiling face, I get sad.  I do.

Then I get pissed off.  Mad at the bastards that killed him, mad at the bastards who insist it was all our fault, that we had it coming, that we deserved it.

So I’ll be sad for a bit today.  I’ll indulge it.  But only for a while.

Comments»

1. Cuffy Meigs - September 11, 2007

I hear you, Dave. For the past couple of years, this day has gotten more normal—until I hear/see the first flashback video or visit a memorial website (which I just did). Then I go into a half-hour tailspin.

2. lauraw - September 11, 2007

Wish I had read this before that comment at Ace’s.

3. Bosk - September 11, 2007

I won’t forget but as you put so well…I want to move on with the memory of “that” day. What I’d like to forgot are those that want to destroy us from within.
I get tired of the MSM, lefty hate blogs BDS and those that encourage that type of vitriol.

4. daveintexas - September 11, 2007

lauraw, what normal person wants to relive those feelings? Shock. Anxiety, the awful fear when we thought “Dear God, how many”?

And the raw pain.

Nobody wants to do that, it hurts to much. It’s too goddam hard.

I like what alexthechick said in response to your comment, she called it “the ultimate double middle finger salute” right back at the bastards. We’re alive, and we’re not beaten.

That’s why I wrote you and the IB gang a funny about boobies. Because boobies make everybody smile.

5. ConservativeBelle - September 11, 2007

Exactly why I made my post succinct on my own blog. Much like Ace, I was thinking of reflecting about where I was when I heard about the events that day and asking others to share, but I started thinking about how depressing it was and thought better of it. A brief memory, flags at half staff today in Mississippi, scenes on tv and thoughts on talk radio are enough.

And if 9/11 wasn’t enough to make you mad, then you can do the unfortunate thing I did, and watch a video of the terrorists beheading a US citizen. It was an image that will never leave my head and it brings a reality check to me anytime I start feeling soft about battling these despicable jihadists.

6. cranky - September 11, 2007

I remember the run on U.S. flags right after 9/11 and how hard it was to find them. I managed to find some online and also finally located some at the costume & party store in Montgomery. The flag I hung in my kitchen window a week after 9/11 is still on display. Faded but still defiant and proud.

I will always get angry about the attacks and I still cry for the families of the fallen. My fear is that people will forget and because it becomes forgotten that it will happen again.

Dave, boobies is the perfect antidote to the anger and sadness — and they’re patriotic too.

7. cranky - September 11, 2007

Did I lose one to the spam bucket? Or did I booger it up?

I actually had something kind of thoughtful along with a little link to lighten the mood.

8. daveintexas - September 12, 2007

got it


Leave a Reply

