jump to navigation

Asshole doctor running late for his flight phones in bomb threat to make plane return to gate July 27, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events, drama.
trackback

Kou Wei Chiu admitted to authorities he used a pay phone at Seattle’s SEATAC airport to claim a bomb was on the flight that he had missed, to force them to return so he could still make his trip.  He got to the gate too late to board, so he called 911 and made the threat.

He called 3 times, thinking the first two calls had no effect.  After the third call he saw the plane return.

His counsel explains:

His lawyer said Thursday that Chiu is eager to return to his family.

This stupid prick was willing to concede he might have upset the passengers, although I doubt the pilot would have allowed a panic to start by stating the actual reason for the turnaround.

Comments»

1. TXMarko - July 27, 2007

So, he was “eager to return to his family”, eh?

Sounds like someone is a perfect candidate for being held without bond for a while.

A LONG while.

2. daveintexas - July 27, 2007

Can you believe that shit?

If I were, I dunno, say a member of the board in the state of Tennessee that is responsible for licensing practicing physicians, I might have a passing interest in evaluating this jerkwad’s mental health. That is some seriously anti-social pathology at work.

3. Sobek - July 27, 2007

This guy assumed the plane would then be cleared for take-off in less time than it would take to get a different plane? How did he ever graduate from medical school?

4. cranky - July 27, 2007

Oh, I think he’ll be returning to his family in 10 to 15 with time off for good behavior. At least I hope that is how long it takes for him to return to his family.

What a ‘rrhoid.

5. Michael - July 27, 2007

I bet if he says his name real fast, people say “gesundheit” in response.

6. Tushar D - July 27, 2007

AllahLanche! A gust of Hot Air!

7. PattyAnn - July 27, 2007

Hot Air A Lanche. Congrats, Dave.

8. daveintexas - July 27, 2007

Allahu Akbar, PBUH

9. Tushar D - July 27, 2007

I wonder how they caught him.

10. Tushar D - July 27, 2007

Careful, Dave. Invoking the mighty deity might ruffle the feathers of sensitive fanatics.

11. steve_in_hb - July 27, 2007

They should have let him on the plane but instituted the punishment from a game we played in Jersey as kids – “Suicide” or “Wall Ball”. Basically, you have a bunch of guys throwing a tennis ball against a brick wall. Anybody who wants to can try to field the ball – but can use only one hand. Failure to field the ball cleanly makes you fair game for punches until you force your way through the barrage and touch the wall.

In other words, have him run the center aisle gauntlet of the plane while his fellow passengers aggressively communciate their displeasure.

12. Lipstick - July 27, 2007

Congratulations!

13. daveintexas - July 27, 2007

I wonder when and how (or even if) the passengers became aware of what really happened? It’d be nice to know how they traced it to this goofball. Did they pick him up at SEATAC?

Questions. All I have is questions and no answers.

14. Tushar D - July 27, 2007

I think they saw the guy running through the gate yelling, “Let me through! My plane just turned back!” and got suspicious. What other way was there to catch the bastard?

15. Mr Minority - July 27, 2007

Hmmm, a Doctor, so he must of had brains at one point, but his common sense seems to have gone missing. And desperate people do desperate things, but I don’t see how calling in a bomb threat will make your situation any better.

If Dr Chui isn’t a proctologist now, he is going end up being one after a long stay in prison.

16. danindenver - July 27, 2007

You gotta know he saw this in a movie!

I’m guessing they caught him because this isn’t the first time this bit has been tried. No-show passengers are probably the first place they look when they get a bomb threat, nowadays.

17. geoff - July 27, 2007

Many years ago as a 1st Lieutenant I was running late for my flight (as usual in those days) at Ontario Airport in California. Ontario had stairs to the airplanes rather than jetways, so to board the aircraft you went out onto the tarmac. I got hung up in security, then sprinted to the gate, only to see the plane backing away. So I ran past the gate agent onto the tarmac and started waving at the pilot. He looked down at me in my uniform, waved back, and then pulled back into the gate and let me board. The gate attendant was flabbergasted.

So I believe in audacious begging to get on a flight, but threats are another matter.

18. jic - July 27, 2007

“This stupid prick was willing to concede he might have upset the passengers, although I doubt the pilot would have allowed a panic to start by stating the actual reason for the turnaround.”

From the way the article was phrased, I think he meant the other passengers at the gate, not on the plane. How could the passengers on the plane have “overheard his calls”?

I hope this douche gets some real jail time, and is put on some sort of ‘no fly’ list.

19. mesablue - July 27, 2007

Geoff, try that today. I dare ya.

20. geoff - July 27, 2007

Yeah. Even with a uniform I’d be going to the pokey, I bet.

21. Tushar D - July 28, 2007

Why is a prison called a pokey?

22. Dave in Texas - July 28, 2007

Hmmm. Good question two-fer.

According to the American Heritage Dictionary, the etymology is unknown:

http://www.bartleby.com/61/59/P0405900.html

I wasn’t able to find a reference.

I do know however that we get the word “hocus-pocus” (a magical expression used by Harry Potter) from the latin “Hoc es, corpus es” which means the “body of the Host”. It seems that Romans heard about transubstantiation and considered it some sorta magical ritual practiced by those crazy Christians.

OT, I think that’s the first time I got a link from HA, it translated to about 1300 visitors.

23. tsos20 - July 28, 2007

He should be allowed to return to his family, after serving 5 years of his 8 year sentence. He can return to his family on parole. He needs to loose his medical license also for endangering public welfare. whar a self centered asshole!
The Sultan on Sports
tsos20.wordpress.com

24. Inoperable Terran » A new high in asshattery - July 28, 2007

[…] Korean doctor missed his flight at Seattle/Tacoma International so he called in a bomb threat for that flight to make it come back. Posted by Ian S. […]

25. Michael - July 28, 2007

So I believe in audacious begging to get on a flight, but threats are another matter.

Wow, I’m impressed. My biggest achievement was to get them to reopen the door after the plane was sealed (I had to make an international connection), but it had not started moving. And that was on American, where I’m approaching 3 million miles since I joined their frequent flier program, so I gots me some clout with them.

26. daveintexas - July 28, 2007

If I recall correctly, if you are Platinum or Exec Plat, they will hold a connection for you if you are flying int.

They did for me.. a couple of times.

27. Michael - July 28, 2007

I’m Platinum For Life. I think when I hit 3 mill, I’ll be Executive Platinum For Life. Which is cool, because I actually had that rank for a few years when I was flying a lot, and it makes a difference.

American sucks these days, but those frequent flier programs really are effective at promoting customer loyalty once you get invested. I fly American whenever I can. Plus, my vacations are always on an American route, because I still have something like 600K unused miles, even after flying the kids around all the time while they were in college.

28. daveintexas - July 28, 2007

I can’t kick American’s ass (although I want to, badly). A week ago yesterday I needed to be somewhere and the goddam Eagle RJ failed… and they got me through Chicago to where I needed to be, about an hour and a half after I needed to be there. Not bad.

It all worked out, so I can’t be de frustrate.

29. mesablue - July 28, 2007

Why is a prison called a pokey?

It might have something to do with what happens to you while you are there.

Especially a cute brownish person with a sexy accent.

30. Michael - August 3, 2007

In case you didn’t notice, Dave, this was linked at Hot Air earlier today.

31. Dave in Texas - August 3, 2007

yeah, Tushar gave me a head’s up (see comment #6). I did shamelessly shop it to ace and Allah; ace put it in his headlines section.


Leave a Reply

