jump to navigation

Whose Price is Right Anyway? July 26, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events, drama, History.
trackback

drew-carey.gif

 

It seems as thought Drew Carey’s price was right.

Rosie has been edged out by Drew Carey.  49 year old DC (I did not know he was older than me, I swear) is the new host of “The Price is Right”.

I also didn’t know The Price is Right was still on until I’d saw a story a couple of years ago that said “now in his late 70s, Barker still hosting The Price is Right”.

My bad.

For those of you who lament the demise of Television (the Vast Wasteland, cr. Newton Minow), you might peruse the archives of “The Price is Right” and “The Gong Show”.

Peoples been embarrassing themselves on the public airwaves for a long long time.

Anyway, Drew ain’t gonna gay it up.

He’s gonna crewcut it up.

He’ll do fine I suppose.  He’s a fairly entertaining guy, and works well in front of a live audience.  He’ll certainly be a lot funnier than Rosie, although I admit the bar isn’t set very high with that.  His work on Whose Line is it Anyway was decent.

An aside, I’ve seen the Brit version of that show, and while entertaining, didn’t seem to be significantly more entertaining than the American version.  But that seems to be the point I hear often when comparing the (usually first) Brit version of a comedy to the American version (I hear it all the time about The Office).  When did this become established folklore, that the English version of something is better than the American version? 

I can tell you from personal experience that rule did not hold true for cheeseburgers, or for that matter cuisine in general.

I suspect it’s just entertainment sniping, a shot at the business that sees something successful running in Britain and decides to take it to the Colonies and make more money with it.

It is a business after all.  At least, I think it is.

Comments»

1. eddiebear - July 26, 2007

Isn’t Carey a Marine?

Also, regarding the British is better than the American line, I get the feeling that those who claim that the British Version of The Office was better than the NBC Version would be the same ones to get in your face and declare unsolicited that they were a fan of X before X became popular.

2. PattyAnn - July 27, 2007

I always enjoyed him on “Whose Line is it Anyway”
I’d rather have him on ‘The View” than Whoopi. He can cut through B.S. very quickly.

3. nicedeb - July 27, 2007

Oh, I think he’s an excellent choice.

He’s clean cut, funny, everyone likes him.

My kids LOVE “Whose Line Is It Anyway”

4. Pupster - July 27, 2007

Everything is better/funnier with an accent, ‘eh guvnor?

5. John Galt - July 27, 2007

The Univision version “Sabado Gigante” is better, or was, when I had a TV.

6. Lipstick - July 27, 2007

Yep, Carey is a Marine.

I like him, he’s funny and he has a great attitude.

7. S. Weasel - July 28, 2007

I think the Brit/American thing sprang from our embarrassment at having ripped off so many ideas without acknowledgement. It’s bad enough to hail from the culture that produced Three’s Company, but to learn that it is, in fact, pilfered cheese…

Anyhow, the Brit version of the Teletubbies was miles better. Word.

8. daveintexas - July 28, 2007

I still love Fawlty Towers and Black Adder.

But that mexican restaurant in Salisbury? Not so much.

9. The Price is Right Blog! – What does the search on Technorati tell us? - May 19, 2010

[…] Dave in Texas He’ll do fine I suppose. He’s a fairly entertaining guy, and works well in front of a live audience. He’ll certainly be a lot funnier than Rosie, although I admit the bar isn’t set very high with that. His work on Whose Line is it Anyway was decent. […]


Leave a Reply

