jump to navigation

Chihuahua saves infant from rattlesnake July 23, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events, Damn Dog.
trackback

No, he didn’t just sit there yipping and bore the rattler until he moved on,

he took the hit for the kid.

I don’t know if Zoey got between the snake and the baby or just ran up and seemed more of a threat to the snake than the kid did, but that little dog took a snakebite right in the middle of her forehead and the boy wasn’t bitten, so either way that dog did all right in my book.

Comments»

1. cranky - July 23, 2007

God bless and love dogs.

2. nicedeb - July 23, 2007

I’m amazed that she survived!

3. Slublog - July 23, 2007

I’m not always the biggest fan of dogs, but sometimes I wonder if we really deserve their loyalty.

Amazing creatures.

4. daveintexas - July 23, 2007

Their love is unconditional, and complete.

So I understand your dilemma. It is much like grace.

5. eddiebear - July 24, 2007

Michael Vick is not impressed.

6. mesablue - July 24, 2007

Good for the dog, but I hate chihuahuas.

The snake mistook that little ratdog for lunch and couldn’t swallow it’s bug-eyed head.

7. Dave in Texas - July 24, 2007

It’s very possible he just annoyed the shit outta the rattler and the rattler decided to shut im up.

8. Lipstick - July 24, 2007

Now THAT’s a crimefighting dog!

9. Dave in Texas - July 24, 2007

True enough. I’m surprised Michael didn’t pick up on this one.

10. lauraw - July 25, 2007

There’s chihuahaus, and there’s chihuahas. I don’t like the little rat-dogs, myself. BUT

Long-haired chihuahau puppies are the cutest beings on the planet Earth. They’re simply stunning. You drop to your knees unbidden before their cuteness and babble like an infant.

I know my dog would take a snakebite for me, if he ever noticed snakes. He doesn’t. I don’t know why, but snakes and frogs are invisible to him, even when they’re moving.

Sometimes he’ll gaze in their direction as they noisily make their way through the grass, but he never makes the critical visual
connection. ‘Just the wind,’ he tells himself.

11. daveintexas - July 25, 2007

he soothes you too then, stays cool.

that’s a mature dog. in charge.


Leave a Reply

