jump to navigation

What will you be doing at 7:07:07 on 07/07/07? June 30, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

It will be next Saturday morning, so I’ll probably be at work or on my way to work.  I usually put in 2 or 3 Saturdays a month.  It’s nice and quiet and you can get a lot done.

On a completely different topic, laptop computer theft in the state of Ohio is apparently a big problem.

I admit I was not aware this was a challenge for Ohioans, Ohi-yo-un, Oh Hi Yo, yans. 

Whatever.

An observation, from Governor Strickland’s spokesperson:

“State-owned and issued equipment is being misplaced or lost and stolen, and fundamentally that’s not good,” said Keith Dailey, a spokesman for Gov. Ted Strickland.

I don’t know what Ted is paying Keith, but whatever it is he deserves a raise.  The word choice here is a little unusual.  “Fundamentally”?  He must be talking “the basics”, something we can all agree on.  Theft = bad.  Ok.

The focus of the article is on the theft of state-owned laptop computers, and not necessarily those owned by private citizens.  So I suppose there’s no reason to panic — yet!

We also learn that several state employees had laptops stolen from their cars, some while stopped at turnpike service centers.

Anybody know the etymology of the word “turnpike”?  We don’t use that one much here.

Anyway, in other news, fire is hot, clouds are vaporized moisture in the atmosphere, and the Cowboys aren’t going anywhere this season either.

Comments»

1. nicedeb - June 30, 2007

I’ll still be in bed.

But later on in the day my 8 year old is having her 9th birthday party. (Her actual birthday is the 4th of July).

2. daveintexas - June 30, 2007

don’t you get up and go to church?

3. nicedeb - June 30, 2007

On a Saturday?

4. geoff - June 30, 2007

On the evening occasion of 07:07:07 07/07/07, I’ll be attending the Rocky Mountain Blogger’s Bash.

A little less beer this time, I think. That’s the ticket.

5. lauraw - June 30, 2007

Be sleeping at that time in the morning, if lucky.

6. daveintexas - June 30, 2007

oh duh… a sat.

7. nicedeb - June 30, 2007

Even on Sunday I don’t get up that early, lol,

8. daveintexas - June 30, 2007

well you should. you got kids to feed and dress and shit

9. nicedeb - June 30, 2007

7:07?!

No way, chump, we go to the 11:00 mass. It doesn’t take that long to get ready!

10. daveintexas - June 30, 2007

No Sunday School for Catholics?

How do you guys even learn about the Bible and stuff?

11. Nice Deb - June 30, 2007

No Sunday school in the summer. There will be vacation bible school, that’s always a lot of fun.

Actually most Catholic churches have their PSR (Parish School of Religion) classes during the week. My church is one of the rare ones that does it on Sunday morning, and I like it that way.

But like I said…summer break. We all get to sleep in longer in the summer. No choir, either.

12. Wickedpinto - July 1, 2007

I will be asleep, but at 19:07:07 of 070707 I will be FUCKING DRUNK.

My situation is kinda complicated thought, family birthdays that I will not take part in.

13. Wickedpinto - July 1, 2007

I thought that most of the bible learning took part on fridays after school. . . whats it called? My gradeschool friends went through it, and I envied them.

My father and mother asked me “do you want to go to that class?” and after thinking about it for a moment I realiezed I didn’t.

Thats why I am the only bloode member of either family’s side who was neither baptized nore confirmed.

OH! I read the bible unlike the ass fuck’s who get all uppity with me, but I don’t care about the miracle stuff.

Really? one of the requirements before confirmations SHOULD be a complete education of the bible? I don’t mean that they should have it memorized, but they SHOULD have read it? I read “of mice and men” when I was in 2nd grade (of course I read it cuz my brother kept calling me illitterate but thats another thing)

Before you require a child to accept the divinity of christ based on his teachings, you should well. . . .make that kid read his teachingings.

A lot of catholics would fail that test.

And as an atheist I would past, cuz I WANTED to pass it.

THEN

14. Wickedpinto - July 1, 2007

CCD! I think is what my friends called it.

15. Wickedpinto - July 1, 2007

Was it Sobek who praised me for having read “paradise lost?”

Dude? I remember next to none of it, it really is a piece of shit novel, the meter is interesting, but I hate meter, I think it is a lazy mans form of engagement.

I have read the bible at least 3 times, I remember some of it, but it wasn’t in my language, and the 3rd time I read the NIB which was a disgrace in my opinion, give me king james any day.

Basicaly, Imagine reading the same book in 3 different books, translated at three different times of history?

The bible is an even bigger bitch than Paradise Lost, but I give it a try.

No offense those of you who are faithful. In fact I completely lost track of where I was just a moment ago.

16. Wickedpinto - July 1, 2007

More than anything else? the NIB bible has pissed me off more than anything. It uses my language to be vauge and meaningless.

Okay, if your goal is to be vague and meaningless then how about you don’t translate it to begin with?! ASSMUNCH!!!

17. Dave in Texas - July 1, 2007

WP, you mean like this one?

18. Baby Got Book « Balance Sheet - July 1, 2007

[…] 1st, 2007 by cranky Dave in Texas countered Wicked Pinto with […]

19. harrison - July 1, 2007

I’ll be getting ready for work; being a spoke in the wheel of the retail sales industry that I am.
Ho-hum.

20. Paul - July 2, 2007

A pike used to be a long heavy stick. A turnpike was a heavy stick with a counterweight that was raised after the toll was paid. Now I’ll google it to see if I’m right

21. Anna-Lys - July 2, 2007

Watching tennis in Båstad, Sweden :-)

Have a Nice week until then Dave!

22. lauraw - July 2, 2007
23. daveintexas - July 2, 2007

Paul, cool! That sounds reasonable.

Anna-Lys, have fun.

lauraw, yeeesh. What kind of goofy schmuck feeds puppies to boas? Totally unnecessary.

24. Mrs. Peel - July 2, 2007

Hm, 7 in the morning on a Saturday. I’m guessing I will be either sleeping or making out.

What kind of goofy schmuck feeds puppies to boas?

Indeed.

25. Slublog - July 3, 2007

I’ll be visiting the in-laws, so I may actually be sleeping at that time of the day. They’ll be all anxious to spend time with the kid, which means sweet pillow time.

26. daveintexas - July 3, 2007

Ahhh youth. One day we look forward to making out at seven in the morning. Before you know it we’re looking forward to grandparents taking care of the infant so we can get a little extra rack time.

These things are not necessarily related.

27. TXMarko - July 3, 2007

If the weather holds (and the forecast says it won’t), the wife & I should be heading out for a morning of garage sales.

We love garage sales, you never know what might show up!

28. Retired Geezer - July 3, 2007

Yeah, Mrs. Geezer and her friend used to do the Garage Sale thing like it was the Normandy invasion… check the paper… plan the route… have other squads people check other sites.

I got a pretty neat “Greenhouse Window” last week for $40.
I have been looking for them for a while. I think they want $300 at Home Depot.

Score!

29. Joanne - November 27, 2007

On the 07/07/07 i was actually giving birth to my 5 month old daughter, she was born at 7.42 pm, not bad a!

30. Dave in Texas - November 27, 2007

Not bad at all, and congratulations.

31. Joanne - November 27, 2007

thank you, she is a darling


Leave a Reply

