jump to navigation

Two grandpas handle unruly passenger on Northwest flight June 8, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

Bob Hayden, a 65-year old retired police commander looked around for help to subdue another passenger, whose rants and erratic behavior were scaring the other passengers and flight attendants.  When he looked at the younger guys, they looked the other way.  So he looked to another elderly guy sitting next to him.  “You up for it?” he asked.  The man replied “Retired Captain, USMC”.

“You’ll do” Bob said.

Together, using a prearranged signal from the flight attendant, they stepped forward, subdued the man, and put plastic handcuffs on him.

Tactical Bob didn’t justs focus on the noisy goofball either.

“I thought it might be a diversion. I kept scanning the back of the plane to see if anyone was going to rush forward. The flight attendants did a great job, literally surrounding the two guys who were making all the noise. I told one of the flight attendants I was a retired police officer and would be willing to assist, so we agreed on a signal.”

Hayden’s wife concentrated on the book she was reading, unruffled by her husband’s actions.

Hayden’s wife of 42 years, Katie, who was also on the flight, was less impressed. Even as her husband struggled with the agitated passenger, she barely looked up from “The Richest Man in Babylon,” the book she was reading.

“The woman sitting in front of us was very upset and asked me how I could just sit there reading,” Katie Hayden said. “Bob’s been shot at. He’s been stabbed. He’s taken knives away. He knows how to handle those situations. I figured he would go up there and step on somebody’s neck, and that would be the end of it. I knew how that situation would end. I didn’t know how the book would end.”

Heh.

Via Slublog, who is a huge fan of Zorro movies featuring Antonio Banderas

Comments»

1. Slublog - June 8, 2007

Actually, it’s An-TONIO Ban-DERAS.

2. eddiebear - June 8, 2007

It’s sad that the youngins wouldn’t do anything.

3. daveintexas - June 8, 2007

I stand corrected Slubs

4. mesablue - June 8, 2007

Bob’s wife sounds pretty cool, too.

Today’s youngins, outside of the military, are a bunch of coddled pussies.

How else could I keep playing rugby at 44?

5. daveintexas - June 8, 2007

You have dentures so you ain’t worried about losing any teefes?

and yeah, Katie sounds like someone that doesn’t easily lose her shit.

6. nicedeb - June 9, 2007

I LOVED that story.

7. Wickedpinto - June 9, 2007

I wanna NAIL THAT BROAD!!!

8. Wickedpinto - June 9, 2007

but bob would kick the shit out of me.

9. daveintexas - June 9, 2007

I don’t even think Bob would ask the Marine Capt. to help him.

10. Wickedpinto - June 9, 2007

Yeah, I think it was more like “WTF!?!?! I’m IN!” the geriatric captain thought.

Bob is a unique person, and if he takes his eyes off his woman, I’m totaly gonna try to hit it, and if he turns his eyes back, my 31 year old ass will be running like a cat from a squirt gun from a 65 year old coot.

11. daveintexas - June 9, 2007

just try to make her put that book down

12. Wickedpinto - June 10, 2007

she’d prolly beat my ass too.

He’s a unique man, and thats a unique woman.

She’d likely beat me to death at the first come on.

13. Wickedpinto - June 10, 2007

“What was the weapon?”
“a book”
“a fucking book”
“it was the 65 year old cops wife”
“Ohhhhhhhhhhhh……….”
“oh”
*somber silence*

14. Wickedpinto - June 10, 2007

Something that people of that generation have, that is rare in common culture.

They are nice, they are grandparents, stern but nice, but when they must act, there is DEATH in their eyes.

When I lived with my father he had a border who served in vietnam, he tried to fake it, I didn’t by it, my father tried to sell it, and I bought it a little, cuz well, he was my father,

but I did know WWII vets, you piss them off, the look they give you inspires terror. I’m at best like my father, I can express severity, but the REAL vets? Do NOT EFF WITH THEM! It’s obvious and if you miss it you are a complete at total social retard.

15. Wickedpinto - June 10, 2007

Oh, border was a draftee in the army, dad was a volunteer in the MC, figure that should be on the record.

16. Wickedpinto - June 10, 2007

random thing.

I was in the Marine Corps, I know get yourself under control, it’s true.

I remember one time that I was in the field and I packed up a shitload of maruchen ramen noodles.

I also brought heater candles, what is the fuel called? I forget not parafin, that is what dave waxes his ass with, not cintronella, thats what my brother uses to chase off bugs, it’s something else.

Anyways, I smoked, and my whatever it was, candle (meant to heat my MRE, even though I really wanted to boil water for my maruchen,ramen noodles) To light it, I couldn’t use my lighter, so I set a noodle I coaxed away from the common pack and I used it as a straw stick/taper, whatever the hell it’s called.

basicaly, I set my food on fire, to cook my food.

17. Dave in Texas - June 10, 2007

sterno probably

18. Wickedpinto - June 11, 2007

It was sterno you are right.

19. Dave in Texas - June 11, 2007

Random recollection: (hey, WP doesn’t get all the random stuff), in the movie The Andromeda Strain, there were two survivors in the town hit by the (virus?), an old man and a baby. The old man had a sterno huffing habit, which they theorized saved his life.

I had never heard of using sterno before I read that book (about a year before I saw the movie).

20. kevlarchick - June 12, 2007

Gotta love a man who will step on a few necks to take care of business. I’d fly with that cat any day.


Leave a Reply

