jump to navigation

US Mint tries again with the $1 coin March 23, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

The last two attempts fell flat.  Call me crazy, but I don’t think anyone felt warm fuzzies about Susan B. Anthony and Sacagawea.  Famous (who?) woman’s sufferagette and Meriwether’s girlfriend. 

So they are rolling out the Presidential $1 coin set.  Like the states, one coin for each US President in the order they served.  The first four will come out in 2007, beginning with George.

I put a $5 in a changemaker today and got four of these new coins (and one SBA).  What’s different?

Well, first, it’s not a side view.  Face of George from the front.

george2.jpg

So that’s what his right cheek looks like.

On the back, Statue of Liberty.  Ok.

slib.jpg

E pluribus unum and In God We Trust are inscribed on the side of the coin.  I recall seeing Latin inscriptions inscribed like that on the side of Brit coins.

side.jpg

Meh.  Ok.  The state quarters have been fairly popular (although some of the designs are absolutely horrid), so the Mint thinks this might get the public to embrace the dollar coin.  It does save money, these coins last a lot longer than the paper bills.

Ok, I’m in for now.

Can’t wait to get my William Howard Taft.

Comments»

1. Brass - March 23, 2007

The cotton picking lobby will have something to say about this.

2. Retired Geezer - March 23, 2007

Is it the same size as the other ‘new’ dollar coins?

Cause I lost 75 cents every time I spent one of those things as a quarter.

3. Enas Yorl - March 23, 2007

Yup same size as the old ones RG. It’s so they can be used in vending machines. Keep an eye out for those George Washington dollar coins and check them carefully. I heard on the radio a batch of them went out without the “In God We Trust” motto, and they’re worth $50 each. They did the same thing with the first state quarter too.

4. Elzbth - March 23, 2007

Can it be used in a vending machine as a dollar or as a quarter?

5. TattooedIntellectual - March 23, 2007

If the vending machine accepts them it should read them as a dollar. I absolutely love these things to be honest. I despise putting a $5 in a soda machine and getting 40 million quarters back (yes I exaggerated that just a bit).

6. kevlarchick - March 24, 2007

Coins are heavy and noisy.

7. Dave in Texas - March 24, 2007

Yes Elzbth, they are the same size as the Sacagawea dollar and the SBA. Vending machines have been modified to accept these coins. I’m like tattooed, I’d rather have my change in dollar coins than in quarters.

Interestingly (to me anyway, but I’m retarded), the metal in the coin is different from other coins. It’s kind of a light alloy – it feels lighter than a quarter. It doesn’t clink so much as it “clunks”. Four of these in your pocket would make less noise than four quarters.

8. Brass - March 24, 2007

From my time in Australia I’ve grown to love dollar and two dollar coins. Someone would ask if I wanted to go to the bar and all I would have is a pocket full of change, then, upon counting it, I realized I had thirty bucks, so off to the bar I went. It does make tipping the strippers a bit dicey though.

9. cranky - March 24, 2007

So Brass, fill us in on how you tip the strippers with dollar coins.

10. TattooedIntellectual - March 24, 2007

Brass, I’ve been in New Zealand about two months, and they have the same setup w/ the $1 and $2 coins. To me change has always been that pesky stuff you get when you spend paper money. I have the hardest time remembering here that there could be quite a bit of money in that change pot!

11. S. Weasel - March 25, 2007

I’ve always maintained the Sacajawea and SBA coins didn’t go over because they were too close to the quarter (the ugliness? ALL new coins are ugly now). So they’ve gone and made the same mistake again.

I like the British pound coin, but it’s small and very fat and totally different from any other coin. It feels…neat.

12. Dave in Texas - March 25, 2007

It’s heavy too. I like the Brit pound coin.

They have different versions as well.


Leave a Reply

