jump to navigation

Not defending Coulter anymore March 5, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events, Politics.
trackback

I’m pretty much done, yeah.

Honestly, when you have to resort to slurs to make a point, how are you different from the other assholes?

Open letter from The American Mind to CPAC.

UPDATE:  Big discussion/grenade throwing party at AceofSpadesHQ  Not every defender is guilty of this but many are: those of us who disagree with Ann’s defenders have bad motives for doing so.  That’s one argument that annoys me to no end, cause it’s pussy shit.

Comments»

1. Barb the Evil Genius - March 5, 2007

The saddest thing is that I perceive her to be so much wittier than that and therefore capable of doing so much better than slurs.

2. daveintexas - March 5, 2007

I’m sure she was trying to fire off an anti-PC remark about the guy on Grey’s Anatomy. I don’t know, maybe if it had been funny.

I just kinda wince every now and then. It’s not the end of the world or nuthin, but I’ve taken some grief over at AoS from some pretty strident Ann supporters. One guy called me a poopyhead or something.

3. geoff - March 5, 2007

I spent some time at AoSHQ suggesting that conservatives distance themselves from Coulter the last time this happened.

It was not well received.

I stayed out of this one, because it’s one of those arguments where reason holds no sway.

4. daveintexas - March 5, 2007

No kidding.

5. FANCY - March 5, 2007

I cant figure out what is happend. Here is spring on the way and people are really smiling. ;-)))

6. Wince and Nod - March 6, 2007

More on Rosemary’s place. Teletubbies are invoked.

Yours,
Wince

7. daveintexas - March 6, 2007

Hey Wince.

Yeah, I guess I just need to bite the bullet and set up another account over there, I’ve long since forgotten my credentials.

She told me the baby is two now, so I uh, been gone a bit!

Take care

8. davebones - March 7, 2007

A very interesting peek into conservative infighting. If only you were as fractious and destitute as the “left” is over here- and I mean that most sincerely!

When I saw Ann Coulter on Newsnight over here she seemed much more human than her words. Words are strange things. Can’t make sense of it Dave.

9. davebones - March 7, 2007

I just caught her blonde moment -fantastic

10. Dave in Texas - March 7, 2007

Dave Bones,

It’s like me trying to figure out the slang between a Scot and a Brit.

I swear, sometimes I can only clue in on “yeah”?

11. Jane m - March 7, 2007

I think she’s funny but I don’t get mad at those who don’t appreciate her. She just blurts out the most outrageous shit and it usually strikes me as hilarious but then on this occasion, as an Iowan where Edwards has his second home, we joke about his “girly-ness” quite a bit.

12. davebones - March 8, 2007

I just spent a bit of time watching it all. Its ridiculous Dave. She is doing comedy. Shes making people laugh. When she says the “conroversial bit” people go “OOOooooohhh” disaporvingly like they do when any comedian goes close to the bone. She’s making young conservatives laugh. I don’t know what Mickey is doing her nut in about. She needs to lighten up. Its comedy.

13. davebones - March 8, 2007

thats contro-versial I think.

14. davebones - March 8, 2007

That Mickey Malkin is the more offensive of the two by a long long way. I mean she is sort of pretty until she opens her mouth. What is she so bitter and stuck up about?

When I’ve seen what Coulter has said written down I thought it was bad, but watching her I can see that she is just a rightwing comedian in the same way we’ve had controversial left wing lesbian comedians over here.

15. Barry in CO - March 9, 2007

i’ve been back and forth on the Coulter comment. Everybody piled on at first, me too, but now I think, free country, 1st Amendment, let her say what she wants. Do we want to let the Other Side tell us what goes and what doesn’t?

After 6 years of Chimpy McHitlerburton and all that, accusing the president of orchestrating 9/11, etc., a ‘faggot’ here and there seems mild.

Coulter’s a bombthrower, sure. Let’s not unilaterally disarm just because the other side insists we must.


Leave a Reply

