jump to navigation

Chili peppers used to season food in Americas for at least 6100 years February 16, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in stuff.
trackback

peppers.jpg

Science.  Is there anything it can’t do?

How did they do this you ask? 

Well I’ll tell you.  They analyzed starch microfossils recovered from grinding stones and cookware shards, and found traces of chili peppers on them.

They licked them or something.  The article doesn’t say.

History tells us Christopher Columbus got the credit for taking chili peppers back to Europe and everybody went crazy for the stuff.  So we have that to thank him for except we already had them here and appreciated them so what do I care what he did with em after that?

Comments»

1. Ruth - February 16, 2007

First, nice pool!!

Second, I heard that eating spicy food burns more calories than non-spicy food, a miniscule increase, but an increase nonetheless.

2. Elzbth - February 17, 2007

Time for a good chili recipe

3. eddiebear - February 18, 2007

Beans or no beans with your chili?

4. Dave in Texas - February 18, 2007

I am of late a bean fan.

Don’t hate me.

5. mesablue - February 18, 2007

I have a great recipe with three kinds of meat and just enough black beans to give good texture.

It’s yummy.

6. Michael - February 18, 2007

I am of late a bean fan.

I never thought I would hear a Texan say that. You’re going downhill fast, man. Next thing you know, you’ll be soaking your hands in paraffin.

Oh wait. You’ve already done that.

I fear the estrogen poisoning is now irreversible.

Next Christmas, I suppose the crap tree will stay in the attic while you happily put stylish ornaments on the department-store tree in your living room.

Goodbye, Dave in Texas. It was nice knowing you.

Can I have your handguns?

7. eddiebear - February 19, 2007

This talk reminds me of that Simpsons episode where Homer coats his throat in wax to eat the spicy chili pepper.

8. DarElvis - March 1, 2007

Didn’t realize they had been playing that long. How many drum sticks you think that guy has used over 6100 years?


Leave a Reply

