jump to navigation

What is “funny”? January 27, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in stuff, uh.
trackback

I’ve often been asked, since everyone loves my sense of humor, “Dave”?  they say, that’s what they say, “what is ‘funny'”?

I think about the Brothers Karamazov and the timeless questions Dostoeyevsky poses about the essence of truth, the existence of God, and the nature of mercy and salvation.  I’m particularly moved by Alyosha’s “speech by the stone”, which leaves to the reader these answers, and merely implores us to love one another and never forget Ilyusha.

That one always gets me.

Sometimes it tickles me that Samuel Clemens was born in Florida Missouri.

That’s pretty darn funny.

But if I had to pull it all together, be a “philostopher” as the late Frank Zappa called it, I’d probably say this is the heart and soul of humor.

Mel Brooks said “Tragedy is when I cut my little finger.  Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die”.

I think he’s full of shit, but I don’t have any movie credits so I’m willing to consider alternative points of view.

This one has everything.  Raw oysters.  Guns.  Pathos. 

More humor below the fold.

UPDATE:  Why I really love the Stooges.

I have two daughters.  They’re teens now (ok, one is older than a teen and in college).

They have two X chromosomes.  And what that means is when they hit puberty, they stop thinking the 3 Stooges are funny.

They can’t help it.  It’s science.

But when they were little, we’d pile on the bed every evening at 6, and watch them.

It was so cute.  They’d go “yay!  it’s Curly!!” whenever Curly was in the cast.

If it was “Shemp”, they’d say “awwwww”.  Although I think Shemp was very underappreciated.

Still, Curly rocked.

I miss those days.  Before cars and college and boys.

But I still laugh at the Stooges.

Because I am retarded. 

And have a Y chromosome.

Comments»

1. cranky - January 28, 2007

You’ll put an eye out fooling around like that.

2. Elzbth - January 28, 2007

nyuck nyuck nyuck

3. Nice Deb - January 29, 2007

I’ve never been a big Stooges fan. But I am a “Dave in Texas” fan.

4. daveintexas - January 29, 2007

It’s ok… you can’t be helped for that. People with ovaries can’t laugh at the Stooges… I’m pretty sure you have to have a Y chromosome to get them.

Of course, that’s the same reason you are a Dave in Texas fan. It’s genetic and you can’t resist me.


Leave a Reply

