jump to navigation

I need a new amp January 15, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in guitarsrockandroll.
trackback

Guitar amp.

I’m sick of this Spider II.  I hate it.  Grrrr.  Too metal-ly.

I need something mellow, with some trem. I can buy distortion.

I need something Dave.

Guitarists.  Offer me your brains.  Put me some f’n’ knowledge here.

UPDATE:  I should elaborate a bit on my needs.

Combo.  Doesn’t need to be a monster – I mike it.

Tube = good.

I was gonna say price is no object.  Well that’s retarded.  Price is an object, but I’m not on a terribly tight budget.

Comments»

1. Cullen - January 16, 2007

In dream, sky-is-the-limit land, I’d get Mesa Boogie. In reality, I gotta wife and kids to feed, etc., I’d look into some of Fender’s tube amps.

2. daveintexas - January 16, 2007

A Mesa.

I just got sprung.

3. Yet another Dave in Texas... - January 16, 2007

Ok…I’m not much into polital discussions, but you know I GOTS to jump in on this one, boog…

Off the top of my head:

1. Mesa Lone Star is one of the best sounding amps there is, but it is a little pricey and you know how heavy Mesa’s are…

2. Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue 40W 1×12″ Combo Amp – no trem, but a very sweet & warm sounding amp. You should definitely check this one out. About 15-20 lbs. lighter than the Mesa, too.

3. Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb Combo Amp – one of the best sounding “small” amps. Not a lot of fluff, but good tone and TREMOLO (although they call it vibrato). Would probably be a nice amp for your environment.

Notable mentions:

Fender® Blonde Blues Junior Guitar Amp
Carvin Vintage series

I’ll try and think of some others I’ve played around with.

4. Dave in Texas - January 16, 2007

Thanks Boog.

Everybody say hi to Dave – a monster lead player. When I grow up I want to be just like him.

5. Yet another Dave in Texas... - January 16, 2007

Too kind, your royal boog-ness. And may I say that no one, but NO ONE, has more command of the Elvis claw than you. Not even the King himself.

Later.

6. daveintexas - January 16, 2007

this is hard! I’m in a pickle!

7. mesablue - January 17, 2007

A Mesa Boogie Mark III or IV. I’ve got a three, love it. They are getting older, and a little more reasonable in price. Now you know how I got part of my moniker.

or

Lately I’ve been spending the most time with my Fender Hot Rod DeVille. Great warm sound with a lot of dimension when you step on it a little.

DeVilles are probably around $700.00,but I see pro’s using them all the time. I bought it because I liked the way it sounded against a Twin.

Fender also makes a smaller model called the Hot Rod Deluxe that would be easier to carry around. The Deville is only 60 watts but it can be REALLY LOUD, I have no problem cutting through with more powerful amps. So, if power is not a big need the Deluxe might be the way to go.

Try the Fender’s out, you’ll be pleasantly surprised for the money.

8. mesablue - January 17, 2007

Ugh, no trem on either, just spring reverb.

9. FANCY SWEDEN - January 17, 2007

If you dont are impressive…*L*…What will a girl think`?…Size 10…*LOL*…

10. otcconan - January 18, 2007

Fender Super Champ is a good, small tube amp that you can push into high-gain territory if you choose to.

Look into Laney as well, good classic Marshall-style tone but not as expensive.

11. plastic surgeons face lifts photos - June 12, 2013

Hi there! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice
information you might have here on this post.
I can be coming again to your blog for extra soon.


Leave a Reply

