jump to navigation

How to ruin Thanksgiving November 17, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

I have enjoyed fried turkey many times.  It cooks fast, and it’s very tender and quite juicilicious.

However a lot of morons injure themselves ignoring basic safety precautions.

So, quick review.

Outside.  Not garage.

Pre-measure oil with bird in displaced water.  Most common boo boo is too much oil.

Wrap propane line with foil.

Don’t stand over the darn thing and drop it in, use a rod with the bird suspended and two guys… lower slowly.

Make sure it’s thawed and brined.

Cook safely.  Eat.  Enjoy.  Emergency rooms suck on holidays.  I speak from experience.

Comments»

1. geoff - November 17, 2006

A timely message. But also a really cool vid. Almost makes you want to try overflowing one of those guys…

2. lauraw - November 18, 2006

I remember watching a home video on the evening news of a poor shmuck who started a fire on his deck with one of those things. Whole house burned down. Not a good Thanksgiving.

3. Dave in Texas - November 18, 2006

I watched my neighbor create the most amazing fireball a couple of years ago frying up some turkey in the garage.

He lit a Marlboro, forgetting about greasy smoke billowing in there.

Only singed some hair. One lucky SOB

4. Mr Minority - November 18, 2006

I love deep fried turkeys, but this year I am going to smoke one. I will take me all day, but worth it.

5. Don Carne - November 18, 2006

Mr Minority, where are you going to get a rolling paper big enough?

6. daveintexas - November 18, 2006

BAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAAAAAA!

I tried to smoke a turkey once but I got busted by THE MAN!

7. Mr Minority - November 19, 2006

Mr Minority, where are you going to get a rolling paper big enough?

Dude, I have this big ol’ bowl made from a turkey roaster, and man does that hummer burn nicely! We got 10 hoses coming off of it, enough for the whole family!

I tried to smoke a turkey once but I got busted by THE MAN!

But I AM the MAN!

8. moraie - November 19, 2006

You should see the Alton Brown episode on food network where he rigs a pulley system and a ladder to cook the turkey. He does it safely, but there were a lot of steps, including having a fire extinguisher, a stable unit and never ever leaving the bird alone.

(He also has a bit where it’s done wrong and the bird and unit goes on fire.)

9. Dave in Texas - November 19, 2006

Those rocked. I watched all three cuts on Youtube.

Excellent stuff.

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all.

10. Deep Fried Turkey and Charred Deck « Trading Tacos - November 19, 2006

[…] (via) Filed under: video, holidays, youtube, thanksgiving, fire, saftey   |   […]

11. kevlarchick - November 20, 2006

You could smoke it thru the turkey baster. Tight hit there.

12. PattyAnn - November 21, 2006

So, when are you posting the funny Christmas story?

13. Retired Geezer - November 21, 2006

My friend tried to do it, not with the propane cooker, but with a fire in a firepit. Of course it ended badly because they didn’t use a thermometer. The oil got too hot.
Fortunately it was outdoors.

Another tip is to make sure that you don’t have *any* moisture left in the bird.

14. Dave in Texas - November 21, 2006

Patience my dear… patience.

It’s not that funny.

It’s not time.

15. Sul Miranda - November 27, 2009

Hello everybody, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m happy with my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that will probably involve a car trip and seeing something new in Buena Vista I haven’t seen yet.
You write new post at Thanksgiving?


Leave a Reply

