jump to navigation

For my Dad November 11, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in honor.
trackback

Bumped: For Veteran’s Day 

Also, as noted in the comments, Myron points out this was probably basic training in San Diego.

Happy Veteran’s Day everybody

Honolulu, 1950 

dad1950004.jpg

This is my pop.  He enlisted 10 days after he graduated from high school, just before he turned 19.  He’s the guy on the left with the wiry black hair and the taxicab ears. 

dad21950005.jpg

Hey, he wrote no comment.  I won’t comment.  Except to say that was written with a fountain pen.  In 1950, that was your option.

Dad joined the Navy to play baseball.  SUBPAC on their uniforms (Submarine Fleet, Pacific).  It was what he loved.

He was kid from south Georgia.  Both parents had passed away when he was a boy, his dad before he was 3.  He didn’t really know him, he learned about his father from stories told by his family, friends.. his older sister and brother.  I’ve heard some of them too.

His mother died when he was nine.  Cancer.  He knew his mom.

I don’t know why he enlisted (I’ll ask this Sunday).  He graduated high school in Albany Georgia.  Then he joined the Navy.

Among his small collection of memorabilia (including a submariner’s badge, very tarnished) is a letter from the Dodgers.  Inviting him to training camp when he separated from the Navy.

He went to Hawaii.  He played ball, managed to avoid trouble (luck played a part there).  They sent him to sonar school. 

And he went out on patrol on a diesel electric boat during the Korean war.  They hit a mine, and he was wounded.  His knee.

His baseball days were over.

I should pause here to add, were they not I’d probably not be writing this.  Life takes those funny turns.

I’ll also add while I had those taxi-cab door ears as a youngster, my head grew into them later.

Dad came home, went to college, met my mom and married her.  Finished his degree.  First person in his family to earn a college degree.  Together they raised 4 kids (me and my closest sister were born while he was in school).  I was their biggest challenge.  According to him.  And my sisters.

He lost his wife, and we lost our mom, a few years ago.  It hasn’t been easy for him.  I’m really glad to see him making friends now, getting out, hell, what do you say here?   Living.

This Sunday is Father’s Day.  It will also be his 75th birthday.

Happy birthday dad.  I love you.

Comments»

1. Myron (old en2(ss) on SondraK's blog) - June 17, 2006

Dave, from the leggings they have on in the pic of your dad and the other guy in whites I would say that’s boot camp. We had to wear the damn things in San Diego in 1957.

Tell him another old submariner says hello and thanks.

2. Dave in Texas - June 17, 2006

Myron, thanks for the info. He did tell me boot camp was in San Diego.

I will give him your regards, thanks.

3. geoff - June 17, 2006

Happy Birthday, DinT-p&eacuteere. Happy Father’s Day as well to both you and your dad.

4. geoff - June 17, 2006

Hmmm. p&acuteere was supposed to be p&acute ere. Let’s see how that works out…

5. geoff - June 17, 2006

p&eacute ere

6. geoff - June 17, 2006

Oh. Let’s try this – péere.

7. geoff - June 17, 2006

Last try: DinT-pére.

8. Dave in Texas - June 17, 2006

and he sticks the landing!

thanks geoff. Happy Father’s day to you, and to your dad and father in law if they’re still here among us. I hope you and yours have a great weekend my friend.

Hey, how’d things turn out with the minivan? Ok I hope.

9. geoff - June 17, 2006

Thanks, Dave. Both my dad and my father-in-law are still with us, thankfully, and both are retired Air Force guys (so I especially appreciated the tribute to your father’s military service).

Took the minivan into the shop again this very afternoon to have them solve the mysterious leak problem. Bet they dont’ find it.

10. Michael - June 18, 2006

´e;

11. Michael - June 18, 2006

&acute

12. Michael - June 18, 2006

´

13. Michael - June 18, 2006

é

14. Michael - June 18, 2006

Glad I have someone else’s blog to look stupid on.

15. Mrs. Peel - June 18, 2006

alt+0233, guys. é, see?

But seriously, thanks for the story, Dave, and thanks to your dad for his service. Both of my grandfathers (who have passed away) were in WWII, one in the Army Air Corps and the other in the Navy.

16. Mrs. Michael - June 18, 2006

Happy Birthday, Dave!
I enjoyed the photos and your story!

17. John from WuzzaDem - June 20, 2006

Great post, Dave. All the best to your Dad.

18. Veterans Day « Elzbth - November 11, 2006

[…] Dave in Texas writes about his father here. […]

19. Retired Geezer - November 11, 2006

Yep I had to wear those leggings in boot camp SDIEGO in 1962.

Tell your dad, howdy shipmate.
Retired Geezer RM2

20. John - November 12, 2006

Dave, I miss my Dad every day. Ask the silly questions, buy the guy a drink, listen. I know you probably do this anyway, but for all the times I did this with Dad, I wish I could do it again.

21. Dave in Texas - November 13, 2006

Hard thing about life. My mom passed away in August a few years ago.. first time we got together as a family after the funeral was Thanksgiving at my cousin’s house. I walked in with my girls, looked around the room at all my relatives, visiting, fixing food, kids running all over the place.. about 45 of us..

and for about 30 seconds I forgot mom was gone… I was actually looking for her. I forgot. I felt like the worst son in the world.

I’m sorry for your loss John.

RG, I will, and thanks.

22. Dave in Texas - November 13, 2006

oh, some good extra news about Dad.

He’s got a girlfriend. We will meet her in a few weeks. She met two of my sisters yesterday and they both really liked her. Poor woman must have been totally freaked out. I’m really looking forward to meeting her.


Leave a Reply

