jump to navigation

WTC August 12, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

10m.jpg

Decent movie.

Great movie?  Hard to say.  The recreation and effects, New York, flame and dust and chaos?  Very good.

The human story?  Good.

It did not have the emotional impact (to me) of United 93.  I don’t think that’s what Stone was working for.  And I don’t think that makes it a disappointing film.  It does make it a different film.

I’m not throwing out any spoilers.  To me this was a film about how men fight.  How they work and strive and kick it all out for a brother.  How they lay it on the line for you and me, even though they don’t know us.  It’s their job.  It’s what they do.

I was working in Walnut Creek California in the summer of 2002.  Rolling black outs.  You had to be smart about when you got into an elevator.

I remember seeing a fire engine heading out to deal with whatever the threat was that day.

They had an American flag on one side. 

On the other, a black one with the letters FDNY on it.

I felt connected to them.  Like I did on 9/11.  Like I did for that awful year of funerals.  Dear God.

That’s pretty much all I have to say.  Go see it.

Comments»

1. Innocent Bystanders » WTC review - August 12, 2006

[…] For what it’s worth. […]

2. MY Vast Right Wing Conspiracy » She said I could pimp it - August 12, 2006

[…] Go see WTC.  Good film. […]


Leave a Reply

