jump to navigation

Top 10 most stolen cars in the US August 2, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

I don’t know why we care about stuff like this.  Unless we are insurance actuarials.  Actuaries?  I forget.

Do they still have those or is it all done with computers now?

Anyway, top 10:

1. 2001 BMW M-Series Roadster
2. 1998 Acura Integra
3. 2004 Mercury Marauder
4. 1999 Acura Integra
5. 1968 VW Microbus, green and white, with that fuzzy stuff around the rear windows 
6. 1992 Plymouth Colt Vista Wagon
7. 1987 Dodge Aires
8. Pretty much anything by American Motors Corp.  Seriously, that stuff is scarce. 
9. 2001 Acura Integra
10. 1965 Chrysler 300.  I really miss that car.

UPDATE: Some of you have expressed some doubts about this list.  Specifically you think I’m pulling your leg about the 2004 Mercury Marauder.  I understand, I didn’t believe it myself.  But it’s on the list at #3.

Comments»

1. Elizabeth - August 2, 2006

See, this is why I have such heavy garage security. I must guard my 1982 Pacer! #8 on the list.
Seriously, are those all the cars you’ve owned before
which travelled in and out your door?
Are you glad they came along?

2. daveintexas - August 2, 2006

No way a Texas boy could ever miss a Julio Iglesias/Willie Nelson reference.

#10 was my first car. Bought for $650 in 1976.

3. Amish was only ridden by a little old lady to church on Sundays - August 2, 2006

The Mercury Marauder is a badass car. If a cadillac deville was raped by a mountain lion or maybe a puma or something – whatever – a big freakin angry cat – you would get the Marauder.

4. kevlarchick - August 3, 2006

The Chrylser 300 is back. Very square. Was yours stolen back in the day?

5. Dave in Texas - August 3, 2006

Amish, I really didn’t know much about the Merc. Honestly I thought (for some reason) Ford had retired the brand. I did look it up, and it looks like an asskickin mobile.

kc, I totalled the 65 Chrysler in 1980. That two-ton hunk of steel saved my life. No way I would have survived that wreck in a 79 Monte Carlo or something similar.

6. skinbad - August 4, 2006

My dad was an AMC man. We always had a Rambler and a Jeep. I don’t wanna talk about the Pacer wagon.

7. Cars and Cars » One place to start looking would be online auction sites - August 29, 2006

[…] Top 10 most stolen <b>cars</b> in the US […]


Leave a Reply

