jump to navigation

Europe melts under heat wave July 19, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in Current Events.
trackback

Funny, everyone’s comparing it to August of 2003.

When me and my family decided to take a vacation in London.

It was actually a fun trip, but the weather was tough.  Highs in the low to mid 90s.  Couple of days near 100.

“But Dave” you say.  “You live in Texas.  Hell it was 105 there today”.

Yes it was.  It does that every year.  Winter I got no clue about but summer is as predictable as Helen Thomas.  It’s hot.  Damn hot.

Which is why we have air conditioning everywhere.

There are darn few places in London with AC.  The flat we rented didn’t even have a fan.

It cooled off at night appreciably.  We managed, and we had a good time.  It’s a fun place to visit.  But go in June.

Vacation story.  I looked at the guards at the Tower, full dress wool uniform, big bear-fur hats.. I was like “how in the hell can you stand out here in that”?  I asked a Sgt. who was walking across the grounds, and he said “they’re only standing 2 hour watches… best we can do in this bloody heat.  And they’re drinking lots of water”.

Two hours in that get up.  Whew.

Comments»

1. elzbth - July 19, 2006

I love air conditioning. I move from an airconditioned building to an air conditioned vehicle to an air conditioned building.

Hey, I saw those tower guards! Perhaps they were the same ones, difficult to tell. However, I saw them during a February when it was cold and damp and almost constantly drizzling, and I was jealous of their nice warm hats.

2. Dave in Texas - July 19, 2006

These dudes.

Red wool tunic. Bear-fur hat. Great in 40 degree weather. Not so great today.


Leave a Reply

