jump to navigation

Ken Lay deserved to die. I just wanted it to be worse. July 5, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in Bidness.
trackback

Quite a bit of this going around today.  Sumbitch didn’t suffer enough.

I’m not all that surprised by it, nor bothered really.  People wanted to see the bastard “get what he deserved”, and a quick death feels too much like he got off easy.

Even that chest clutching panic crap really doesn’t cross their minds.  Too fast.

Yes, obviously there’s a schadenfreud factor which can be dismissed.  Set that aside.

When a man’s hubris leads him to commit crimes like Ken’s, decent people yearn for justice.  Part of you, that part we don’t talk about at parties, wants him to hurt, but the better part of you just wants him to meet justice, to face up to his crimes, to atone for them.

Ken hadn’t begun that, officially, in the eyes of the law.  I think he began that personal journey some time ago.  His defense seemed, what?  Weak?  I don’t know, it didn’t have much heart in it.

Well, there are courts.  And there is a court.  And I ain’t hiring Michael or Sobek for the latter.  If Ken did, he’s having a much worse Wednesday than you thought.

UPDATE: The prosecutors were going to ask the judge to assess a fine of up to $43 million, in addition to prison for the rest of his sorry ass life.  Now that he’s dead, the sentencing phase of his trial is over.  It appears there isn’t any legal mechanism in place that would allow the courts to fine his estate.  You can sue it, but apparently you can’t fine a dead man.

Certainly makes some of the ire more understandable, doesn’t it?

Comments»

1. Michael - July 6, 2006

Goldarnit, Dave! You said “schadenfreud” (German) and “hubris” (Greek) in the same post. Are you turning into some kind of frickin’ faggot intellectual or something?

Give me a fucking break. Post about guns or bass guitars or Italian talk show hostesses or something. You can’t just blow off your loyal readers with shit like this. It’s not right.

[FYI, it’s “schadenfreude” with a final “e”]

2. Michael - July 6, 2006

Well, there are courts. And there is a court. And I ain’t hiring Michael or Sobek for the latter. If Ken did, he’s having a much worse Wednesday than you thought.

To make matters worse, you’re getting slyly theological on us. Fuck you! Bring back the Italian talk show hostess.

3. daveintexas - July 6, 2006

Did I mention I made C’s and D’s in German and I pretty much don’t give a rat’s ass how they spell things?

I don’t think I did. So there.

4. sobek - July 6, 2006

It’s actually Schadenfreude. You’re supposed to capitalize nouns in German or the U.S. Constitution.

And I don’t do criminal defense. Mr. Lay is a good reason for that policy of mine.

5. Michael - July 6, 2006

Sobek is right about capitalizing nouns in German.

*hangs head in shame*

6. daveintexas - July 6, 2006

s’allright. I have an advocate for that other court.

7. Michael - July 6, 2006

Dave, I’m kind of offended that you would spurn the services of professionals like myself or Sobek.

But then, I’m thinking about the most ancient book of the Bible:

(Job 16:19-22 NIV) Even now my witness is in heaven; my advocate is on high. {20} My intercessor is my friend as my eyes pour out tears to God; {21} on behalf of a man he pleads with God as a man pleads for his friend.

{22} Only a few years will pass before I go on the journey of no return.

8. Michael - July 6, 2006

Job is fascinating to me.

9. Dave in Texas - July 6, 2006

I’m asking you to invoke lawyer – client confidentiality here,

in that other court, I’m guilty.

or rather, I was. Not now.


Leave a Reply

