jump to navigation

Is Musad Abu al-Zarqawi really farkin around with a squad automatic weapon? May 5, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in terrorist hemorrhoids.
trackback

zman.jpg

You know.  I just don't think so.  I think we're spinning it a little.

And I'm ok with that.  I just don't think it's the ineptitude we are portraying that it is.

Take a look at both video clips, courtesy Hotair.com

Obviously I can't translate the dialogue, but he does what I would do with an unfamiliar automatic weapon.  He fires single taps, then double taps.  It jams, and subordinate runs up and clears it.  You know, like those IT dweebs trying to show the CEO how to create email subfolders.

Then he empties it in full automatic mode.  With a stance like a guy who has fired an AK more than I have.

In the second video clip, he empties it again, FA mode.  Again holding it like he knows how to stand and hold that kind of weapon.

I've only fired one weapon on full automatic, I'm not trying to sell myself as an expert.  The one time was a Colt .45 cal submachinegun.  I have fired several rifles in semi-automatic mode, including the AK-47, the SKS, and the M-1.

Yeah, he uses lousy muzzle discipline, pointing it at subordinate 1.  And yeah, subordinate 2 looks like he grabbed a hot barrel (dumb ass).

I think he was just being introduced to the M249

Probably handling it better than I would have, given his weapons experience.  Certainly no worse than a young infantryman in basic training.

If only he could have stepped on a land mine on the way to the white truck!

UPDATE: I speculated that Zarqawi had a "stovepipe" jam, the empty casing gets stuck in the action and you just cycle the bolt to clear it.  But that kind of jam is pretty common, and Zarqawi wouldn't have looked all confused if that happened; he'd know what to do.  Commenter holdfast over at AoSHQ, who's actually been trained on an M249, says he thinks he's got a gas stoppage (insufficient gas to push the bolt all the way back for the next round) likely because the weapon is dirty.  Still speculation, but that makes a lot more sense to me.

Comments»

1. Enas Yorl - May 5, 2006

Yeah, it’s not quite the “Keystone Cops” performance as it’s being portrayed. Still, I hope we nail that SOB soon.

O/T – your requested Enas self-portrait with cowboy hat is up.

2. Dave in Texas - May 5, 2006

You are a fascinating person Enas.

3. Enas Yorl - May 5, 2006

Thanks Dave! Oh, and thanks also for clueing me in on the frequency. That poor slob, he didn’t know about cowboy hats.

4. Hot Air » Blog Archive » Breaking: U.S. close to capturing Zarqawi? (updated with video) - May 5, 2006

[…] Update: Did CNN make excuses for Zarqawi’s bumbling? Or did they get it right? You make the call! […]

5. immolate - May 5, 2006

I’m sensing here that the bottom line is that you would make an even more inept terrorist commander than Zarqawi. I can appreciate that, and at least it helps you focus your ambitions toward other things.

6. dave bones - May 8, 2006

U finally got a blog you texas nutcase, Nice one u r linked.

7. Dave in Texas - May 8, 2006

Yes I am famous now dave bones.


Leave a Reply

