jump to navigation

Eveeel Wal*Mart same store sales up 6.6% over 1Q 2005 May 4, 2006

Posted by daveintexas in Bidness.
trackback

logo_always.gif

Profits!  Yesssssssssssss.

In retail, comparing same store sales (you leave out new store sales opened since the end of 1Q 05) is the measure that is most significant.  Even if you factor in Easter falling in April, a 6.6% increase in retail is huge.

Bentonville, the center of the capitalist universe is reaping excellent profits in 06, reflecting the strong growth in the overall US economy and solid GDP figures.

While they're only number two now on the Fortune Eveeel 500 (having been passed by EXXONMOBIL and their record profits), they are on target for a very good year.  I love it.

Incidentally, Wal*Mart changed the – between Wal and Mart to a * about 10 years ago.  I know why.  Anybody else?

Sam would be proud.

And richer.

And therefore the Great Satan himself.

Comments»

1. compos mentis - May 4, 2006

I like Wal*Mart. As for the name change, something to do with legality and domain names? Got nuthin’.

2. Bart - May 4, 2006

Is it a religious symbol, Dave?

3. Muslihoon - May 4, 2006

Wow. I never thought of that. I have no idea, to be honest.

4. Mrs. Peel - May 4, 2006

I just popped over to Wikipedia to try (unsuccessfully) to find out and discovered, much to my amusement, that all pages related to Walmart are under NPOV dispute tags. The main page has a NPOV tag because – get this – it’s not critical enough. Ah, those crazy leftists at Wikipedia.

Hey Musli – didja ever notice there’s no period after the Dr. in Dr. Pepper OR after the Mr. in Mr. Pibb (or “that abomination,” as I call it)? I still type the period, ’cause I’m not British, but it’s not on the logo.

5. daveintexas - May 4, 2006

I’ll give it up tonight. I’m curious to see if it’s easily found. It is well-known within the Wal*Mart community.

Not a religious symbol.

6. Muslihoon - May 4, 2006

That always puzzled me, Mrs. Peel. Living in Pakistan, where one does not put a period after Dr., Mr., Mrs., etc., drove me nuts. It looks so wrong! A period so belongs there!

Dave – is it something patriotic? (The only think that comes to mind is the Army.)

7. Muslihoon - May 4, 2006

By the way, in British lands they call it a “full stop.” So funny, those Brits.

8. Bart - May 4, 2006

Something to do with honoring Mr Walton?

9. Dave in Texas - May 4, 2006

Bart, bingo.

Mr. Sam is now the “star that shines over our company” as they say in Bentonville, and, heck, around the world.

10. Mrs. Peel - May 4, 2006

Yeah, they also call a derivative a “gradient,” which means something totally different in math here (it’s one of the functions of the del operator). Taking a math test in British English is like taking it in another language entirely. I know, ’cause I had to for IB (international baccalaureate). There was one question that I think the Brits threw in to make sure no Americans could get a perfect score, ’cause it was something like “What is the kerfuffle of this equation?” (It wasn’t “kerfuffle,” but it was a nonsense word.) None of us knew the answer. Even our teacher didn’t know when we asked him the next day.

11. Muslihoon - May 4, 2006

Mrs. Peel: Those sneaky Brits. I was never very fond of British English. Although I loved Enid Blyton‘s works. (Should I even admit that?)

Dave: That’s quite fascinating. A bit saccharine, but fascinating.

I may be going to Wal*Mart tonight or tomorrow. Want to pick up some goldfish and stuff.

12. Dave in Texas - May 5, 2006

Oh Mushiloon, I didn’t say it wasn’t syrupy.

Watch out starting with goldfish, until the bacteria in the tank are established your ammonia levels will be through the roof with them.

Try tetras first… one or two. And you need to get the tank running for a couple of weeks before you put a fish in there.

13. Bart - May 5, 2006

Really? Hmm. The star thing was exactly what I was thinking, too.
Mrs P should have figured it out with her visit to Wiki and the clue given by Dave.

Clues:
1) Sam Walton passed away in ’92.
2) Dave told us the logo was changed circa ’96.

Ho: The two events are independent.
Ha: The two events, Sam’s death and the subsequent logo change, have an association.

We find that the probablilty of these tow events occuring is very low, therfore we reject the null hypothesis in favor of the alternative. We conclude that there is an association in Sam Walton’s death in 1992 and the logo change in 1996.

Sorry, Mrs P, but you can’t be part of the Scooby gang without deductive reasoning skills.

14. Dave in Texas - May 5, 2006

92? Sorry, I misled you on the timing… memory fails occasionally. I do not know when they officially put in the star. I’ll check with some of my contacts to see when they officially changed le logo.

15. blogidaho - May 5, 2006

I always spell it Walmart, cause I’m lazy and everybody knows what it means.
They are building a new Super Walmart and a Sam’s Club about a mile from my house.
I will save a lot of money on gas cause we shop there all the time.

16. Enas Yorl - May 5, 2006

Mrs. Peel, the Brit term “gradient” may be a holdover from the huge Newton vs. Leibniz calculus controversy. You’re lucky they didn’t throw fluxions and fluents at you.

17. Mrs. Peel - May 5, 2006

The one that really gets me is “aluminium.” Apparently, the guy (Humphry Davy) who isolated aluminum initially named it alumium, then changed it to aluminum, then someone else changed it to aluminium, which became the preferred British spelling.

Meanwhile in America, Webster’s Dictionary used the -ium ending, but then the guy (Charles Martin Hall) who produced the most of it started using the -um spelling, and that became predominant.

18. Dave in Texas - May 5, 2006

Geezer you wouldn’t care about the dash or the asterisk if you weren’t close to them bidnesswise. It’s conditioning.

19. geoff - May 5, 2006

I just wish we could agree with the Europeans about writing large numbers. They use periods to separate every three decades, while we use commas. Very off-putting.

20. Mrs. Peel - May 6, 2006

geoff, I seem to recall from chemistry that the international agreement is to use spaces to separate decades and periods for the decimal point (which is where they use the comma). Personally, I just write everything in engineering notation.

Incidentally, if you want to see a seriously lame edit war at Wikipedia, check out the aluminum spelling talk page. Man oh man, I thought I was a humorless pedant.


Leave a Reply

