jump to navigation

Hey. Here’s a Reason to Put Up a New Post Here July 4, 2008

Posted by daveintexas in uh.
trackback

Today was the Belton Texas 4th of July Parade, one they’ve held for almost 100 years. 

Last time I watched it (hey, it’s hot here in July) was when my youngest was on a float, waving at me).

Wanted to give you a little taste of small town Texas on the 4th.  Without burnin AoS or IB bandwidth.

 

All my best to you and yours this Independence Day.

 

The Bell County courthouse, and waiting parade fans.

 

 

Leadoff Parade man, Sheriff Dan Smith.

Only a pimp in a New Orleans whorehouse would have pearl handled grips.

 

You always know when you’re downtown near the courthouse.

I did not know we had a Carnagie Museum

 

I don’t know.  Girls on horseys.

 

 

You should have heard the standing O.

  

 

Manners.  People kept the sidewalks clear.

 

 

Couple of old cowboys, who have seen more of these parades than I have

 

 

The band.  This is My Country.  I would have done Stars and Stripes, but hell, it’s hot out here.

 

 

The east side of the Bell County Courthouse

 

 

Memorial to Company I, 143rd, 36thID

A close up, for you fans of Ernie Pyle’s work..

 

 

Henry Waskow was a Corporal, before he became a Captain, and then he was lost to us.

 

 

 

Floats is floats.  Also that car is hot.

 

 

Shriners.  George Carlin was so wrong about them.

 

Heh.  My dad used to do this, in 1967, tie up all our neighborhood kids wagons to the riding lawn mower and take us around the block.

 

Staying cool.

 

This was my favorite float

 

 

Marines.  OOORAH  (came up from the crowd)

 

 

Water safety, from Unkie Sam and George.

 

 

 

 

Sammy… I played a wedding gig with him 2 years ago, he’s a pretty awesome drummer.

 

 

Kids

 

I didn’t even know we had them here

 

A very happy Independence Day, to y’all.

Comments»

1. harrison - July 4, 2008

Nice stuff, Dave. Thanks.
Don’t forget to link it around the other joints you’re at.

2. daveintexas - July 4, 2008

I’m on it dude

3. Julia - July 4, 2008

thanks Dave. happy independence day.

4. PattyAnn - July 4, 2008

Thanks, Dave. I love Belton. Beautiful courthouse.

5. Don Carne - July 4, 2008

What is it with Shriners an tiny cars?

6. xbradtc - July 4, 2008

Terrific Dave. Love the small town parade. In fact, I’ll post my sisters pics of a small town Independence Day in Joseph, OR a couple of years ago.
Thanks for this.

7. Nurse Cheri - July 4, 2008

Great pictures that I am sure was played over many times today throughout the US. Nice reminder of what our country is really made of – real people. Not the yahoos we constantly see mouthing off through the media & running for office.

Have a great 4th Dave,
NC

8. Aaron - July 4, 2008

Those cars aren’t tiny. The Shriners are really giants.

9. kevlarchick - July 4, 2008

Love the pic of those old cowboys. I miss Texas.

10. daveintexas - July 4, 2008

Hey now, this is just a picture bucket in a dead blog.

Thank you all… comment over at ace’s

It will make me run it up the flagpole iykwimaityd

11. daveintexas - July 4, 2008

KC, I visited with those gentlemen today. They are lifelong residents of Belton. Both vets, one served in the 36th ID in Italy, and the other was a Seaman in the South P.

Fine men.

12. R Platt - July 4, 2008

Great pictures . . . I can relate to nearly all of them (except the Democratic Party). I’m an old retired soldier whose parents were rodeo stock contractors and I now live in Texas.

13. George Patton - July 4, 2008

Only a pimp in a New Orleans whorehouse would have pearl handled grips.

WTF?

14. George Patton - July 4, 2008

Ooops! Forgot the link. Hey, I’m dead, what do you expect?

15. daveintexas - July 4, 2008
16. BrewFan - July 5, 2008

I did not know that! I even own that movie. Huh.

17. daveintexas - July 5, 2008

I love that line.

IIRC, he got an Oscar for his role but wouldn’t show up to take it.

His portrayal was awesome

18. dave bones - July 28, 2008

happy independence day Mr In Texas! What was the Scottish guy doing there? This is nothing like London.

19. Dave in Texas - July 28, 2008

Hey Dave.

In the 19th and early 20th century, Texas received thousands of immigrants from Scotland and Europe, particularly Germans and Czechs. Galveston was a big immigration in-processing station.

Lot’s of McDave descendants here.

20. Dawn - September 11, 2008

Hey Dave,
I was on sweasel’s blog and I noticed the line through your link and I wondered to myself, “Did he tick her off or what?’ Duh, you just moved! But hey, I didn’t know you were in Belton. It was obvious you were in Texas, but it’s such a large state, you can’t assume you might actually know someone. I spent most of my childhood at Stillhouse Hollow Lake on my dad’s sailboat! Remember the crazy speed trap in Harker Heights? My parents lived in Copperas Cove for twenty or more years. Such a small stinking world.

21. Anna-Lys - September 13, 2008

Thinking of You in Texas <3
hope You manage IKE

22. Anna-Lys - November 6, 2008

Time for a new celebration on Your blog :-))))

23. Enas Yorl - July 30, 2009

Tumbleweeds…
…tumble by…

24. Softozilla - March 19, 2010

Подскажите как ссылки индаксируются при ранжировании. через какой срок.

25. Exolvevow - August 1, 2010

Wifelovers Message board. John and Lisa have been married for over twenty five years and we both always had a great sexual. It was Tampa Bay Gang Bang Cum Queen, so I joined and saw a petite dark haired.

wives

26. Extremenigpole - November 2, 2012
27. Test - August 6, 2013

Каждомуhttp://armdoc.ru/! Все об уязвимости сайтов

28. Test - August 21, 2013

КаждомуПривет! Все об пластиковых окнах

29. lombardru - January 26, 2014

Наша компания предлагает покупка авто с аннулированным учетом в Московском регионе по самым высоким ценам в день обращения. Мы выкупаем автомобили и спецтехнику после аварии и пожара и т.д.. Вывозим авто и спецтехники своим эвакуатором


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

