jump to navigation

Command Sergeant Major James D. Blankenbecler August 15, 2007

Posted by daveintexas in Uncategorized.
trackback

Bumped.

Read down in the comments, the one posted by Joseph, and follow the link.  You’ll know what to do from there.

Joseph is the son of CSM James Blankenbecler. 

Thank you Joseph.  It’s a very beautiful song, and I appreciate you sharing it with me.

Kindest regards,

Dave

memorialday.jpg

Memorial Day is kind of a big deal to me.  Although I’ve been a Texan since the age of 10, as a youngster from Alabama, I recall the Memorial Day ritual we practiced there.  We didn’t bring it with us because we left our extended family behind.

It started with church.  A long (boring, did I say that out loud) church service in FBC Hamilton Alabama.

Then there was a picnic on the church yard.  They had big oak trees and lots of shade… and although it was getting warm and humid, I was 7 and I did not care.

I had a light blue seersucker suit with short pants, a white shirt with an owl on the pocket, and a clip on red bow tie.  Short blonde hair.  Effin adorable.  I was the shiznit.  Email me if you want to see the pic.

We had the picnic, and the best fried chicken on the planet, and then we went to the cemetary, and put little flags in the ground next to some of the markers.  We picked weeds, put plastic flowers down.

I had no idea what was going on.  But I knew it was important.  I could tell from the expressions on the faces of the grown-ups around us, and how my mom was whispering to me all the things she wanted me to do.

Instructions actually.  I obeyed without question.  A habit I dropped in 1975.

I did not understand, we were honoring those who had gone before.  I didn’t even know what “gone before” meant, I just knew it was a big deal.

Cut to 2003.  Married, teen daughters.  I thought I knew what it meant to lose a loved one, having recently lost my mom.

Then I read Jessica’s letter to her father

She lost him when she was 13. 

The comments from those who knew him, worked with him, served with him, tell us a lot about this man.

But that letter from his little girl, well, that tells us so much more.  And it’s a pretty hard thing to contemplate.

CSM Blankenbecler is survived by his wife Linnie, their three children, and his parents and brother.

If I did my arithmetic right, Jessica will graduate from high school in a few days.

May God bless them and keep them.

Comments»

1. LLoyd - May 30, 2006

Dave,
It’s children like this that gives me hope for the future generations. How she love and respected her father. What a good man and human being he was. I hope Her perspective
will give comfort to many other families. I weep for and with her and for her family and all those who have sacrificed for this country.

2. justin - January 22, 2007

dave,

this is my uncle and i just thought i’d let you know that Jim didnt have any sisters he only had one brother, my father.

3. Dave in Texas - January 22, 2007

Justin, thank you. I misread that somewhere, been so long now I can’t remember.

I’m so sorry for your loss, and your dad’s loss. I hope that as time passes your family heals from the hurt. God bless you and give you peace.

4. joseph - August 16, 2007

myspace.com/josephalexandermorales

Please pass this song along…

5. Real Tearjerker « The Hostages - August 16, 2007

[…] Real Tearjerker Because it’s just not right to cry alone. From DaveInTexas […]

6. PattyAnn - August 16, 2007

The song (and voice) are beautiful.

7. FANCY SWEDEN - August 17, 2007

I only have one question for you …Where are you?…:-)))

8. FANCY SWEDEN - August 17, 2007

Forget…HUG to you

9. otcconan - August 18, 2007

Great song, Joseph. Your dad would be honored and proud of you.


Leave a comment